Adventure Zone > 885 E. Hwy 96, Nauvoo, IL 62354 | 217-453-2882 > www.nauvoofun.com
Adventure Zone means fun for the whole family. Whether riding go-karts, climbing through the play land, paddling boats, playing arcade games or eating the best pizza in Nauvoo, this is the place for you. Adventure Zone has room for meetings, family reunions and birthday parties of all sizes.
Bar Y Stables > 120 N. Winchester St., Nauvoo, IL 62354 | 217-453-2091
Stop by the Bar Y Stables for trail rides from one hour long to half days. All rides are guided and special rides are offered along the Old Martyrdom Trail, the path Joseph and Hyrum Smith took from Nauvoo to Carthage.
Baxter’s Vineyard and Winery > 2010 E. Parley St., Nauvoo, IL 62354 | 217-453-2528 > www.nauvoowinery.com
Baxter’s Winery is the oldest winery in Illinois. It features Old Nauvoo Blue Cheese, wine racks and homemade crafts. Free tours and wine tastings are also available. Baxter’s Winery is the only place to get delicious homemade pies and breads made by Carol’s Pies.
Carthage Jail > 305 Walnut St., Carthage, IL 62321 | 217-357-2989 > May-Aug: Mon-Sat 8am-9pm, Sun 10:30am-6pm > Sep-Apr: Mon-Sat 9am-6pm, Sun 12:30-5pm
The Old Carthage Jail was constructed of native yellow limestone between 1839 and 1841. It was the site where the Mormon leader, Joseph Smith Jr., and his brother Hyrum, were killed by an angry mob on June 27, 1844. Their action resulted in the Mormons abandoning nearby Nauvoo on their famous trek west that led to the founding of Salt Lake City, UT.
Family Living Center > Main & White St., Nauvoo, IL 62354 > Winter Hours: Mon-Sat 9am-5pm, Sun 12:30-5pm > Summer Hours: Daily 9am-6pm > Free & Open to the Public
Explore the sights and sounds of pioneer life in historic Nauvoo. Hands-on experiences include woodworking, weaving, rope making, pottery and candle making just
to name a few. A free, must-see place for children.
Historic Nauvoo Visitor’s Center > 350 North Main St., Nauvoo, IL 62354 | 888-453-6434 > May-Aug: Mon-Sat 8am-9pm, Sun 10:30am-6pm > Sep-Apr: Mon-Sat 9am-6pm, Sun 12-6pm > Free & Open to the Public
Stop by the Visitor’s Center for a tour of historic Nauvoo. Tour 65 separate and distinct sites from a bakery to a brick maker. Hands-on activities, pioneer games, and even a horse-pulled carriage ride through the city can be enjoyed all year. Free musical dramas are held during the summer months.
Horse Drawn Wagon & Carriage Rides > 350 North Main St., Nauvoo, IL 62354 | 888-453-6434 > www.beautifulnauvoo.com
Learn the story of historic Nauvoo during a one-hour guided wagon ride of restored Nauvoo. Tours begin at the Nauvoo Visitors Center. Rides available daily, weather permitting, except Sundays. Carriage rides through Inspiration Point and the northern edge of Nauvoo are also available.
Montebello Morgan Horse Farm > 716 East County Rd 1720, Nauvoo, IL 62354 | 217-847-2481
Montebello Morgan Horse Farm has been a breeder of World Champion-quality Morgan horses for 30 years. Lessons, horse boarding and group tours are available. The farm can accommodate up to 40 people in a group. Tours and visitors are welcome by appointment.
Monument to Women > Historic Nauvoo Visitor’s Center > 350 North Main St., Nauvoo, IL 62354 | 888-453-6434 > May-Aug: Mon-Sat 8am-9pm, Sun 10:30am-6pm > Sep-Apr: Mon-Sat 9am-6pm, Sun 12-6pm > Free & Open to the Public
This beautiful garden is located at the Historic Nauvoo Visitor’s Center. Within the garden area are statues depicting and celebrating women’s roles at every stage throughout life.
Nauvoo Temple > 50 N. Wells St., Nauvoo, IL 62354 | 217-453-6252 > www.beautifulnauvoo.com
The Nauvoo Temple of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints was recently rebuilt in Nauvoo, one of the early settlements of the Mormon people. The structure is 150-ft tall and overlooks the Mississippi River. The temple was reconstructed on the site of the original temple, which was built between 1841 and 1846, but later destroyed by arson after the Mormons left Nauvoo.
Clat Adams Park > Front & Broadway streets, Quincy, IL 62301 | 217-223-7703 > www.quincyparkdistrict.com
This modern park, with gazebo and fountain, was built across the street from the original location of the C.L. “Clat” Adams Boat Store. The park has a majestic view of the Mississippi River and is placed between Memorial Bridge and Bayview Bridge, which offers the viewer a panoramic view of both bridges. During the winter months, bald eagles can be seen feeding on the river.
Enjoy Quincy’s architecture and history by riding in an authentic London Transport Double Decker bus. Contact Goodwin Tours to schedule a 2-hour guided historical and architectural tour of Quincy. Call 228-8785 for tour dates and prices.
East End Historic District > 12th to 24th streets, Maine to State streets,
Quincy, IL 62301
The East End Historic District is distinguished by its grand collection of homes of every period and style since 1850. Many of these houses have been painstakingly restored and their lots beautifully planted with sugar maples, tulip trees, flowering dogwood and redbud trees.
Dr. Richard Eells House > 415 Jersey St., Quincy, IL 62301 | 217-223-1800 > Open Fri. & Sat. May- mid Nov. 1-4pm
The Dr. Richard Eells House was a part of the Underground Railroad. The home is the oldest standing two-story brick house in Quincy. In the 1840’s the house was a stopping point on the Underground Railroad as escaping slaves made their way north to freedom. Dr. Eells is credited with helping several hundred slaves escape through the Underground Railroad.
Gardner Museum of Architecture & Design > 332 Maine St., Quincy, IL 62301 | 217-224-6873 > www.gardnermuseumarchitecture.org > Wed-Sat 1-4pm
The Gardner Museum building originally housed the Quincy Public Library. The museum was organized in 1974 to encourage the preservation of Quincy’s outstanding architectural heritage. Along with two temporary exhibits each year, the museum houses two permanent exhibits. Don’t miss the stained glass gallery and museum gift shop.
German Historic District > 4th to 12th streets, Adams to Jersey streets, Quincy, IL 62301
The South Side German Historic District encompasses most of Quincy’s Southwest quarter. In the late 1800’s, as much as 70 percent of the area was inhabited by German immigrants. The district became known as “Calf Town,” due to the fact that almost every household had a cow or calf tied in their backyard. The original German YMCA building, built in 1893, is located on the southeast corner of 9th and State street.
Golden Windmill > 902 Prairie Mills Rd., Golden, IL 62339 | 217-696-2360 > www.goldenwindmill.org > May-Oct: Sat 12-4pm, Sun 1-4pm, or by Appointment > $3 Adults, $1 Students, Children 6 & Under Free
The Prairie Mills Windmill was built in 1872 and is the only smock mill that still has the original stones and gears in place. Today, the Golden Windmill is owned by the Golden Historical Society and is home to the Windmill Museum and Gift Shop.
Granite Bank Gallery > 428 Maine St., Quincy, IL 62301 | 217-228-2354 > Mon-Fri 9:30am-5:30pm, Sat 9am-5pm
This Romanesque Revival building was built in 1892 and was originally the State Savings Loan and Trust Company. The building is rich with extensive wood paneling and the original metal teller cages. It is now the home of the Granite Bank Gallery, which carries a unique selection of decorative accessories, hand-selected wines from around the world, and art collections by local artists. The building is also the home of the Washington Perk Cafe´, which features tasty morning pastries, espresso bar, deli favorites, veggie sandwiches and freshly baked desserts.
Illinois Veteran’s Home,
All Wars Museum, and Deer Park > 1707 N. 12th St., Quincy, IL 62301 | 217-222-8641 > Museum Hours: Mon-Fri 1-4pm, Weekends 9am-4pm > Free
The Illinois Veteran’s Home of Quincy is one of our nation’s largest and oldest veterans home. It not only generates its own electrical power, but also owns and maintains it own water, sewer, gas, telephone and data network systems as well. The Veteran’s Home also houses the All Wars Museum, which has exhibits spanning from the American Revolution to Desert Storm. Visit the deer & buffalo parks within the grounds.
Indian Mounds Park & Pool > 1400 S. 5th St., Quincy, IL 62301 | Office: 217-223-7703 > Pool: 217-228-9219 > www.quincyparkdistrict.com
Indian Mounds Park is one of the few places in the state where visitors can view Native American mounds. The park features a walking time line that introduces you to the history of the people who built the mounds. In 2003, Indian Mounds Pool reopened after reconstruction. The pool is heated and features waterslides, diving boards, geysers and a food court. For pool hours, please call the above telephone number.
John Wood Mansion,
1835 Log Cabin, and Parsonage > 425 S. 12th St., Quincy, IL 62301 | 217-222-1835 > April-Oct: Weekends 1-4pm > June-Aug: Daily 1-4pm > Admission: $3
The John Wood Mansion is the restored home of Quincy’s founder and the twelfth Governor of Illinois, John Wood. The mansion is recognized by historians
and architects as one of the Midwest’s finest existing examples of Greek Revival architecture. The 1835 Pioneer Log Cabin is preserved, authentically refurbished, and features a pioneer garden. The Parsonage displays items depicting the history of Adams County while preserving a historic parsonage.
Lewis Round Barn > Adams County Fairgrounds > 2007 E. 1250th St., Mendon, IL 62351 > 2 miles south of Mendon on Hwy 33 | 217-964-2165
Built in 1914, the round barn was later moved to the Adams County Fairgrounds site in 2000. Local Amish helped to disassemble and rebuild the barn. The structure is 80 ft. in diameter with a 45 ft. silo on the center. The barn is open the last week of July during the Adams County Fair each year. The Adams County Olde Tyme Association hosts several events at the barn each year, including two annual Flea Markets, held the 3rd weekend of May and the 3rd weekend of September.
Maid Rite > 507 N. 12th St., Quincy, IL 62301 | 217-222-9767
This is Quincy’s home of the “maid rite” sandwich. This unique restaurant began in June of 1928 with 3 tables and 4 chairs and has expanded four times over the years. Not to be missed, naturally, are the maid rites, but also homemade soups and ice cream concoctions, which are one of a kind.
Mississippi Valley Antique Auto Museum > Front & Cedar St., Quincy, IL 62301 | 217-223-7909 > Memorial Day to Labor Day: Sundays 12-4pm or by Appointment > Admission: $2
The auto museum has over 65 antique cars and related displays.
It is located in All America Park, on the approach to Quinsippi Island. Enjoy the annual car show held at the museum each Father’s Day.
Park Place > 12th to 14th streets, Park Place, Quincy, IL 62301
This was Quincy’s first planned neighborhood. It consists of 25 houses built between 1889 and 1917 according to restricted covenants. The covenants stipulated that each home be built of either stone or brick, be at least two stories, and cost at least $3,000. Carriage houses were accessed only from the alleys and the residences followed a standardized setback from the street. Queen Anne is the most common architectural style represented. The boulevard is one of the few remaining brick streets in Quincy.
Prairie Junction Gardens > 2175 N. 2700th Ave., Golden, IL 62339 | 217-696-4463 > May-Oct: Fri-Tues 10am-6pm
This is a true garden experience which is recognized with National Display Garden Status. Visit over 800 varieties of daylilies and over 400 varieties of Irises along with other perennials. Peak bloom for the daylilies is near Mother’s Day and the peak Iris bloom is near July 4th.
1930’s Preserving Agriculture Museum > Quincy, IL 62301 | 217-223-5099 or 217-224-9249 > Open by Appointment Only
The Preserving Agriculture History Museum showcases John Deere agriculture machinery that would be found in a typical 80-120 acre farm in the Midwest during the 1930’s. It also includes many of the things that would be found in a typical 1930’s farmhouse. This museum is free and open to groups.
Quincy Art Center > 1515 Jersey St., Quincy, IL 62301 | 217-223-5900 > www.quincyartcenter.org > Tues-Fri 12-4pm, Sat-Sun 1-4pm > Free & Open to the Public
The Quincy Art Center, a museum of the visual arts, was started in 1923 and is located on the grounds of the former Lorenzo Bull mansion, now the Women’s City Club. In 1990, an award-winning addition was opened with galleries and a gift shop with studio space in the lower level. A variety of rotating exhibitions are presented throughout the year. Important contemporary Midwestern art is a primary focus, and work by artists of national and international renown are also featured.
Quincy Community Theatre > 300 Civic Center Plaza, 3rd & York St., Quincy, IL 62301
(In the Oakley Lindsay Civic Center) | 217-222-3209 > www.1qct.org > Box Office: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm
This state-of-the-art community theatre far outshines and out-performs many professional theatres. The Quincy Community Theatre’s first production was in 1929. The theatre seats 498 people and is complete with a thrust stage and full orchestra pit. Six different performances a year attract sell-out crowds.
Quincy Museum > 1601 Maine St., Quincy, IL 62301 | 217-224-7669 > www.thequincymuseum.com > Tues-Sun 1-5pm > Admission: $3
The Newcomb-Stillwell Mansion, completed in 1891, is the home of the Quincy Museum. The mansion set American architectural standards in the late 1800’s, which contributed to its appointment to the National Register of Historic Places. The first floor of the building is restored to the style of the 1890’s. Among other things, the museum features traveling exhibits, a gift shop, and a discovery center for children.
Enjoy IMCA Late Models, A & B Modified and Bombers every Sunday evening at 6:30 pm from April thru August. Special racing events and concerts are held at the raceways throughout the year. Call for special prices and schedule details.
Quincy University & Stadium-
Home of the Quincy Gems Baseball Team > 18th and Spruce St., Stadium; 18th and College St., Campus > Quincy, IL 62301 | College: 217-228-5279 > Gems Office: 217-223-1000 > www.quincy.edu > www.quincygems.com
Founded in 1860, the Catholic Franciscan School now enrolls 1,200 students. Francis Hall has long been a symbol of Quincy University and attracts visitors with its stately 140 ft. tower and 19th century Revivalist facade. Day passes are available to Quincy University’s Fitness Center, complete with Olympic-size pool.
QU Stadium has been the home of minor league baseball teams and farm clubs since the early 1940’s. The stadium currently houses the Quincy Gems Collegiate Baseball Team each summer. For a game schedule, call 217-223-1000.
Quinsippi Island > Front & Cedar St., Quincy, IL 62301 | 217-223-7703 > www.quincyparkdistrict.com
This unique island park can be reached by way of a one-way wooden planked auto-bridge, originally a railroad bridge, dating to the late 1860’s. Once on the island you will find picnic areas, sandy beaches, children’s recreational equipment and reassembled Adams County log homes.
Siloam Springs State Park > RR1, Clayton, IL 62324 | 217-894-6205 > www.dnr.state.IL.us
One of the largest parks in Illinois, Siloam Springs Park has 3,323 acres of beautiful wooded terrain, a sparkling lake, and carefully maintained facilities. Hiking trails, fishing or canoeing, and camping make this a perfect place to spend a summer day
Spirit Knob Winery > 2213 E. 640th Plaza, Ursa, IL 62376 | 217-964-2678
Located on the bluffs of the Mississippi River, Spirit Knob Winery is the first bonded winery in Adams County. The winery was established in 2002 and is family-owned and operated. Group tours and wine tastings are available by appointment.
St. Francis Catholic Church > 1721 College St., Quincy, IL 62301 | 217-222-2898
This beautiful, ornate church was built in the Gothic Revival style. Construction began in 1884, and it cost approximately $62,000 to build. White marble was used extensively throughout the interior. Not to be missed are the wall and ceiling murals.
Underbrink’s Bakery > 1627 College Ave., Quincy, IL 62301 | 217-222-1831
This German bakery began in 1929 and is still a definite stop for anyone with a sweet tooth. The bakery is famous for their frosted angel food cupcakes and radio rolls. Antique baking tools line the walls, along with the original display cases. Many of the bakery’s original recipes are still being used.
Villa Kathrine > 532 Gardner Expressway, Quincy, IL 62301 > Call 217-224-3688 for Hours > Admission: $3
The Villa Kathrine is a unique example of Mediterranean architecture in the Midwest. The Villa is located on a bluff with a breathtaking view of the Mississippi River. Built for Quincy native and world traveler George Metz, Villa Kathrine was based on his sketches and photos of villas in various parts of the Islamic world. It has a number of interesting features, including a “harem” room and a courtyard, which surrounds a reflecting pool. The building now houses Quincy’s Tourist Information Center.
Washington Park > 4th to 5th St., Maine to Hampshire St., Quincy, IL 62301 > 217-223-7703 > www.quincyparkdistrict.com
Washington Park is the city’s original central square laid out by Quincy’s founder, John Wood, in 1825. The square was formerly called John’s Square, named in honor of President John Quincy Adams. In 1858, Washington Park was the site of the sixth Lincoln-Douglas debate. Laredo Taft’s sculpture now marks the setting of the debate site. Today, farmer’s market is held in the park Tuesday and Saturday mornings from May to October.
Wavering Aquatic Center > North 36th St. in Wavering Park Quincy, IL 62301 > 217-228-9220 > www.quincyparkdistrict.com
This modern swimming facility is located in Wavering Park on North 36th Street. Spend a family day full of fun, sun and swimming. The park is equipped with waterslides, miniature golf, paddleboat rentals, batting cages and walking trails.
Woodland Cemetery > 5th & Jefferson St., Quincy, IL 62301 | 217-222-2412
Woodland Cemetery can be considered among the most beautiful cemeteries to be found anywhere in the Midwest. The panoramic view from the bluff above the Mississippi River can only be upstaged by the majestic beauty of the ancient hardwood trees arranged throughout the cemetery’s borders. A beautiful mausoleum features floor length stained glass windows, and stands on the site where a Civil War hospital once stood.
Abe Lincoln’s Talking Houses Tour > Various homes in Pittsfield, IL 62363 | 217-285-4484 > www.pikelincoln.com
Simply tune your radio to 1650 AM and begin the self-guided tour of eleven homes with Abe Lincoln significance in Pittsfield. The first home on the tour is at the NE corner of West & Washington Street. Each home has a yard plaque to depict the home’s history associated with Lincoln. For a copy of the self guided brochure, visit the Pike County Visitors Center at 224 West Washington in Pittsfield or the Bureau’s Office at 3rd & York St. in Quincy.
Clark 54 Drive-In Theatre > Hwy 54, Summer Hill, IL 62363 | 217-285-2805 > www.clark54drivein.com
Open April through October on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday evenings, the drive-in shows two features each night. The concession stand is open during show times. Call for movie listing and show times.
Collver Family Winery > 2 Rooster Way, I-72, Exit 20, Barry, IL 62312 | 217-335-3279 > www.collverfamilywinery.com
The family-owned and operated winery is open year round. Tours of the winery and the vineyard are available by appointment. Bottled wine, wine accessories and wine tasting are available in the gift shop.
Griggsville Purple Martin Tower
and Dink’s Purple Martin Restaurant > 116 W. Quincy St., Griggsville, IL 62340 | 217-833-2600 > www.naturesociety.org
Griggsville is known as the Purple Martin Capital of the nation. Purple Martin birdhouses, which are produced locally, line the streets of Griggsville. The birds spend the winter in Brazil and return to North America from March through July. The Purple Martin Inn Restaurant is open 7 days a week. For hours, please call 217-833-2600.
Enjoy the rolling hills of Pike County at the Heartland Lodge, located just one hour from Quincy. ATV rentals, horseback riding, scenic hayrides, Old West Cookouts, hiking trails and mountain bike rentals all await you at this premier resort. Home-cooked meals are included for guests staying at the Lodge.
The Ole Red Barn Country Music & Banquet Hall > 500 Piper Lane, Nebo Blacktop, Pittsfield, IL 62355 > 217-754-3544 > www.tntandthedynamitecowboys.com > Open Year-Round, Fri & Sat Evenings & Sun Afternoons
“Family-style” country music and gospel show featuring the well-known band TNT & the Dynamite Cowboys along with various guest stars and comedians.
Pea Ridge Elk Ranch > 18279 430th St. Pittsfield, IL 62363 | 217-285-5115 > www.pearidgeelk.com
Pea Ridge Elk Ranch is the largest elk herd in Illinois. The herd of farm-raised animals roam freely throughout the 800 acres overlooking the Mississippi River. Wagon tours of the facility are available by appointment. A variety of elk meat, antlers and gifts are available in the gift shop.
Pike County Speedway > 1 Speedway Lane- Off Route 106, Pittsfield, IL 62363 > 217-285-4127 > www.pikespeedway.com
One of the fastest tracks for mini sprints. Enjoy races every Saturday from April until September. Pit gate opens at 3:00 pm with races starting at 6:00 pm. Reasonable admission prices from $2 for seniors to $6 for adults.
Pine Lakes Resort > 1405 Lakeview Heights, Pittsfield, IL 62363 | 877-808-7463 > www.pinelakesresort.com
A beautiful 105-acre campground, with a 45-acre stocked lake. Enjoy free fishing, beach swimming, hiking, boat rentals, hayrides and more. Cottages
and cabins are also available.